A simple question and a great response

Just a quick post to put a period on an amazing beginning to Urbana 12. 

I was standing in the America Center Dome this evening just as students were filing into their seats. The conference opened with a question that went something like this: “Are you going to hear from God this week?”

“Yes, man!” a tall guy striding past me said to no one in particular. I didn’t catch his face, don’t know his name, but I heard his quick response. And it gave me great hope.

IMG_0222

Urbana 12 has just begun. There are four more days ahead of us, filled with worship, Bible studies and exposition, drama, prayer. There will be a myriad of conversations. And God will speak.

I know this, because when I was a 17 year-old-student, first-year-university student at Urbana 79, I heard God speak. I can’t tell you the exact words He spoke but I know He did. Because when God speaks and we listen, things change.

I’ve never been quite the same since that first Urbana. Being in a space with 17,000 other believers, hearing powerful words from Christians from all over the world solidified my faith. It made me certain that what I had grown up believing, was indeed true.

I stood in the Dome tonight, as 16,000 young people started their Urbana journey. I heard a question. And I heard a response. I’m praying I will echo it over and over again throughout this week.

Will you pray for that, too?

About Lynda MacGibbon

This blog grew out of a newspaper column. I miss the smell of ink when my writing is published, but writers must get words out somehow…and so I blog.
This entry was posted in Invitation, Urbana. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

